SGR - Walks programme
Headermain

Walks > Walks Programme

Sunday walks leave Newport Civic Centre upper car park at 9.30am and midweek walks at 7.00pm, unless noted otherwise in the NOTES FOR WALKS below. Click here for directions and car parking information. Additional walks take place on some social events (always for the barbecue), before our AGM and before our Christmas lunch (held between Christmas and New Year).

For an A4 printable pdf file of the full walks programme, click here. For an A5 pdf file of the full walks programme for viewing on-screen, click here. Get Adobe's pdf reader here.

Beware - Longer moderate walks may feel strenuous to anyone not used to the mileage

Grade = length of walk in miles and vigour of walk (more details of Grades here)
RT = Round trip in miles

Day/Date

 

Grade

Location

Leader

RT

Wed 01 Aug

4

Strenuous

Caerlicyn (Langstone)

Ian

12

Wed 08 Aug

4

Moderate

Sirhowy Valley Country Park

Liz Salmon

15

Wed 15 Aug

4

Moderate

Llanwern Village circular

Babs Ray

10

Sun 19 Aug

11

Strenuous

Mynydd Llangorse

Ken Poole

63

Wed 22 Aug

3

Easy

Three Blackbirds

Ian

6

Wed 29 Aug

4

Moderate

Llanfrechfa

Dave Fereday

10

Sun 02 Sep

12

Strenuous

Dare Valley Country Park

Ian

65

Sun 02 Sep

6

Moderate

Shirenewton

Denise Humble

34

Sun 09 Sep

10

Moderate

Hollybush (Golden Valley)

Jan Lavis

90

Sun 23 Sep

10

Strenuous

Black Mountains

Paul Coleman

60

Sun 30 Sep

5

Moderate

Llanfrechfa and Llanyrafon - see note below

Joan Lang

10

Sun 07 Oct

10

Strenuous

Cats Back

Pam Jones

60

Sun 14 Oct

10

Moderate

Rudry

Adrian Sheehan

14

Sun 21 Oct

10

Strenuous

Abersychan

Derek Humble

24

Sun 28 Oct

10

Strenuous

Bryn Awr

John Smith

44

Sun 11 Nov

10

Moderate

Kilgwrrwg and First World War

Ian

40

Sun 25 Nov

9

Moderate

Clydach Gorge - see note below

Dave Fereday

52

NOTES FOR WALKS

Sun 30 Sep

Llanfrechfa and Llanyrafon

Optional light lunch

Sun 25 Nov

Clydach Gorge

9am start

PontsicillCornDuPenyFanCribynandPontsticillRedervoir

Corn Du, Pen-y-Fan and Crybin behind Pontsticill Reservoir

RAmapArea